Prof. Phyllis Bartoo Wins Moiben MP UDA Repeat Nomination

Prof. Phyllis Bartoo Wins Moiben MP UDA Repeat Nomination

Prof. Phylis Bartoo has been declared the winner of the repeat nomination for the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party in the Moiben Constituency.

UDA had ordered a repeat of the nomination in the constituency due to what was cited as massive irregularities.

This is after a nomination certificate was erroneously issued to James Kibor, a candidate other aspirants said had emerged fourth in the earlier exercise held on April 14, 2022.

Ballot boxes used in UDA nominations in Uasin Gishu on April 14, 2022.

But in the repeat poll, Bartoo won after garnering 12,116 votes against her closest competitor Joseph Lagat who had 10,191 votes.

Lagat is a former Member of Parliament for the Eldoret East Constituency.

James Kibor, who had been issued the nomination certificate before the results were nullified finished third with 4,451 votes while Donald Murgor had 1,856 votes.

The Moiben MP seat had attracted 10 candidates who were eyeing the UDA ticket.

Prof. Bartoo, formerly a lecturer at the Egerton University will now be flying the UDA ticket in the Constituency for the August 9, 2022, general election.

She will be facing the current Member of Parliament Silas Tiren who opted to defend his seat as an independent candidate.

Moiben MP Silas Tiren. He will be defending the seat as an Independent candidate

Aside from the repeat of MP nomination in Moiben, UDA had also ordered a repeat of the exercise for two wards in the constituency – Kimumu and Karura/Meibeki.

In Kimumu ward, the current Member of County Assembly (MCA) Sarah Malel won the ticket. Malel, serving her first term in the Uasin Gishu County Assembly was declared the winner with 1,386 votes ahead of Samora Machel who had 904 votes.

Former area MCA Samuel Ruto, who once served as the Eldoret Town mayor finished third with 756 votes.

The current Uasin Gishu County Assembly Leader of the Majority Josephat Lowoi lost to newcomer James Serem in the Karuna/Meibeki MCA nomination.

Current Karuna/Meibeki MCA Josephat Lowoi. He lost in the UDA nomination to James Serem

Lowoi has already conceded defeat and pledged to support Serem.

Following the loss, the MCA who was first elected in 2013 said he will now be taking a back seat.

Congratulations UDA mca Nominee James Serem. Count on my support going forward. For Karuna/meibeki ward. Asanteni Sana for the Period we have worked together. I’ll take a back seat and also enjoy the leadership of our incoming Government commencing August,” he posted on his Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *