UDA Nominations for Kimumu, Karuna/Meibeki Wards to be Repeated


The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) National Elections Board (NEB) has directed a repeat of MCA nominations in Kimumu and Karuna Meibeki Wards.

A press release issued on Sunday notes that the repeat nominations in the two wards within Moiben Constituency will be held on Tuesday, April 19, 2022.

There were controversies over the credibility of results in the two wards, with aspirants claiming manipulation.

Ballot boxes used in UDA nominations in Uasin Gishu

In Karuna/Meibeki Ward, James Serem had been declared winner with 2,375 votes, beating the current MCA Josephat Lowoi who had 2,045 votes.

Lowoi had already disputed the results.

The current Kimumu MCA Sarah Malel had been declared winner in the ward’s nomination, ahead of former MCA and Eldoret Mayor as well as youthful Samora Machel who finished third.

“God has heard our prayers, mungu mbele , let’s turn up in large numbers on Tuesday for a repeat of UDA Nominations. Kimumu kwanza,’ Samora posted on his Facebook page.

This comes just a day after the UDA Uasin Gishu Deputy County Returning Officer said nominations for the Member of Parliament seat in Moiben will be repeated.

Prof. Phylis Bartoo. Moiben Constituency MP aspirant

Aspirants in the constituency had protested irregular awarding of a nomination certificate to James Kibor, whom they claimed had been placed at number four in the face.

Earlier, the battle had been anticipated to be between former Egerton University lecturer Prof Phyllis Bartoo and former Eldoret East MP Joseph Lagat.

Repeat nominations will be held even as aspirants from other elective positions have petitioned the UDA Disputes Resolution Committee to nullify the exercise.

Prof. Julius Bitok casting his vote on April 14, 2022.

Amb. Prof. Julius Bitok has rejected the gubernatorial nomination results in which he lost to Jonathan Bii Chelilim alias Koti Moja.

Lawyer Kipchumba Karori has also protested credibility of the Senatorial results that saw governor Jackson Mandago declared the winner.

Both Prof. Bitok and Karori want the nomination for the two seats nullified and a repeat ordered.

A section of aspirants in Turbo have also demanded for a repeat in the MP seat race that the incumbent Janet Sitienei won.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

County Assembly Leader of Majority Speaks after Controversially Losing in UDA Nominations

Next Story

Trans Nzoia Coffee Farmers to Benefit from Post-Harvest Processing Technology

Latest from Features