Prof. Thomas Cheruiyot Appointed New University of Eldoret VC


Education Cabinet Secretary Ezekiel Machogu has named Prof. Thomas Kimeli Cheruiyot the new University of Eldoret Vice-Chancellor (VC).

Machogu made the announcement on Friday, August 25, 2023, in a statement to the press.

Prof Cheruiyot now takes over from Prof Wilson Ng’etich who has been serving in the position in an acting capacity since the end of the term of former VC Prof Teresa Akenga.

Akenga’s 10-year term came to an end on June 9, 2023.

She was appointed to the position on June 9, 2023.

The new University of Eldoret VC will serve for a renewable term of five years.

Prof. Thomas Kimeli Cheruiyot hails from Elgeyo Marakwet County.

His appointment has since been welcomed by Elgeyo Marakwet Governor Wisely Rotich.

Rotich in a post on his verified Facebook page said it was the first time an individual from the county has been appointed a VC of a public university.

Since independence, Elgeyo Marakwet county has never had a Vice Chancellor despite having top-notch academicians. We thank the President, CS Machogu for Appointing Prof Thomas Cheruiyot to be the new Vice Chancellor of the University of Eldoret,” the governor said.

He further said the new University of Eldoret VC was the Kerio Valley University task force chair and has participated in shaping the Kenya University education sector for years.

Prof. Thomas Kimeli Cheruiyot hands over a report on establishment of Kerio Valley University to Govenor Rotich.
Prof. Thomas Kimeli Cheruiyot hands over a report on the establishment of Kerio Valley University to Governor Rotich.

“His humility and hard work will take the University to greater heights,” Rotich added.

CS Machogu also made appointments for VCs in 12 other public universities.

List of 13 new VCs appointed by CS Machogu

  1. Alupe University –  Prof. Barasa Lwagula
  2. Dedan Kimathi University of Technology – Prof. Peter Nganga Muchiri
  3. Machakos University – Prof. Joyce Jepkirui Agalo
  4. Technical University of Kenya – Prof. Dr. Benedict Mwavu Mutua
  5. Tharaka University – Prof. Peter K. Muriungi
  6. Pwani University – Prof. James H. P. Kahindi
  7. Karatina University – Prof. Linus Muthuri Gitonga
  8. Kisii University – Prof. Dr. Nathan Oyori Ogechi
  9. South Eastern Kenya University – Prof. Eng. Douglas Shitanda
  10. University of Eldoret – Prof. Thomas Kimeli Cheruiyot
  11. Jaramogi University of Science and Technology – Prof. Emily Achieng Akuno
  12. Tom Mboya University – Prof. Charles O. Omondi
  13. University of Kabianga – Prof. Eric Kipyegon Koech

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Senators Impressed with Implementation of Infrastructural Projects in Eldoret

Next Story

Eight teams to face off at the Safaricom Chapa Dimba Western Region finals

Latest from Education