List of Suspects in Raila Helicopter Stoning Incident


Police officers in Eldoret over the weekend arrested 17 people claimed to have been involved in the stoning of ODM leader Raila Odinga’s helicopter.

The incident happened on Friday, April 1, 2022, at Kabenes, Soy Sub County as Raila with his team were condoling with the family of the late Uasin Gishu businessman, politician, and farmer Jackson Kibor.

The arrested suspects were presented before an Eldoret court on Monday, April 4, 2022.

Some of the suspects at the Eldoret Municipal Court on April 4, 2022.

The prosecution team indicated that the suspects will likely be charged with among others attempted murder, destruction of property, and creating a disturbance.

Here is a list of the suspects that were presented at the Eldoret Municipal Court;

  • Abednego Kiptanui
  • Godwin Kipchirchir
  • Abraham Chemja
  • Rodgers Kiplimo
  • Sammy Keter
  • Elvis Kipkoech
  • Moses Bahati
  • Edwin Cheruiyot
  • William Samal Erupe
  • Cleophas Cheboi
  • Peris Maiyo
  • Elias Kiplagat
  • Eliud Kimeli
  • Elvas Kiplagat Chumba
  • Kennedy Kipkosgey Sawe
  • Justin Kipkorir Muge
  • Collins Kipchumba Cheboi

Raila Odinga’s Campaign Secretariat had already claimed that the attack was an attempt on the former Prime Minister’s life, even as politicians condemned the incident.

ODM leader Raila Odinga

The despicable and savage attack in Soy on Raila Odinga, the Azimio la Umoja presidential candidate, is a threat to the peace and stability of Kenya. Let’s call a spade what it is – the attack was akin to an attempt on his life. It could easily have resulted in grievous harm to him and members of his entourage,” said the secretariat in a statement.

Already Kapseret Member of Parliament Oscar Sudi and his Soy counterpart Caleb Kositany have been summoned for their involvement in the incident alongside Uasin Gishu County Assembly Speaker David Kiplagat.

The trio appeared before the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI) Rift Valley regional coordinator on Sunday, April 3, 2022, after they were linked to the chaos.

Sudi, Kositany, and Uasin Gishu County Assembly David Kiplagat

Preliminary investigations indicate that the chaos was organized and coordinated by  Soy MP Caleb Kositany, Kapsaret MP Oscar Sudi, and David Kiplagat, speaker of the Uasin Gishu County Assembly,” DCI said in a statement on Saturday, April 2, 2022.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

17 Linked To Raila Odinga Helicopter Stoning Presented In Court

Next Story

Bags of Fertilizers Farmers Can Buy from NCPB Under New Subsidy Program

Latest from Features